SPICE-Flavored Change in the Air

And it's not pumpkin spice... PS- What superhero are you?

Wonder & Wow

Welcome to the monthly-ish newsletter from Wa’am Writes HQ.

Did you also face big life events and wonder, “Wow. How much more time do we have to make our mark?” Freelance content creator life - it’s not for the weak of heart. Core values, connections, and collaboration are key. This newsletter shares my gratitude for my clients, colleagues, and creatives who show me consistently that together we are all capable of great change.

Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.

Barack Obama

Change-maker Clients

Many of my clients this year are inspirational charter schools. For them I ghost write blogs, social media, and paid media copy to help fill their classrooms with eager-to-learn students.

Check out what I mean by inspirational:

I feel so fortunate to write these stories, hear wonderful feedback, and see the growing results. Bonus: they constantly prove the importance of purpose.

Building the Right-Side of the Brain

Art therapist and client, Jodi Rose Gonzales, uses art-based mindfulness to help creatives like me process trauma, overcome Imposter Syndrome, and rebuild the often quieted right-side of the brain. We’ve been working on alternative business plans. Hers guides the launch of her True Natured Creatives app, and mine helps me realign with my core values (SPICE):

  • Sustainability

  • Purpose

  • Inspiration

  • Creativity

  • Empowerment

Now I’m refreshing my brand and hearing myself say, “I like being a superhero for other superheroes.” So I created a Super Entrepreneur Quiz to collect more super prospect data. Uplifting mission-driven heart-forward business leaders makes me feel like I can fly.

Raw unedited evidence of a successful photoshoot with GM Creative.

A heart full of gratitude to the following:

Glenda Mitchell for taking incredible branding photos despite the pouring rain.

Amy Pierquet for her website ninja goddess magic.

OPEN Madison for welcoming me with rainbow arms and connecting me to fabulous change-makers.

I was my own worst client. With a little help from Her Rose, ideally I’ll take my own medicine: post consistent relevant content to the website for my target audience and Google. This post was inspired by an inquiry to ghostwrite a playbook to help an organization implement DEI strategies in the workplace. And then I heard kids playing outside…

Thank you for reading! Stay tuned for future issues, surely to include topics such as:

  • Results - client copy success!

  • Book in the works!

  • Another book - I contributed a chapter!

  • Hero highlights!

  • Updated service offerings!

PS - What kind of super entrepreneur are YOU? Take the quiz and reveal your superhero type.

Thanks again for your awesomeness!

Laura Paisley Beck

PSS- I miss you too. Let’s connect.