Breaking Bad Cycles - Creating Awesomeness

Entrepreneurial Reminders from Groundhog Day

This February is Full of Fabulousness. For real.

I don’t know about you, but I feel this never-ending grey weather monotonous. We can get caught in an unhappy loop, waking up day after day to the same-seeming blah…yet there is sunshine to be made. We’ll talk about that further down the newsletter. But first, the news!

Upcoming Events & Happenings

Join me this Tuesday, February 6th, at 100State. Six members of the Madison Area Business Consultants group, including me, will take the hot seat on a panel to share our origin stories, inspiration for our chapters in We Wish We Had Known Volume 2, and answer questions from a curious inquisitive audience. Beverages and light snacks will be provided as well, so help us provide and plan for the numbers and register today!

Love Girl Scout cookies? A brave writer, Erin Reed, shares the impressive goals of some trans Girl Scouts in our nation who could use our patronage. Remember, we vote with our dollars, so buying cookies from these girls is just one more way to show up as the inclusive humans who believe in diversity and equity, like we say we are. Erin also reports on the frustrating news regarding legislation against trans people. I personally don’t understand why it’s so difficult to accept people, regardless of their gender identity. Gender is not black and white, science proves this time and time again, in all realms of nature, and here we are in 2024 dealing with Neanderthal levels of fear and misunderstanding. Rant over.

We can hide from or make our own sunshine in any icy situation.

Creating Awesomeness

This month I’ll be turning over the manuscript for my debut novel to an editor. While she is pointing out clunkers and making wise suggestions, I will be:

  • making my beta reader list and checking it thrice.

  • revealing the book cover by Two Lips Creative.

  • showing off the animated e-book cover (yeah, I know right?).

  • planning a book tour based on where cool friends live around the nation and their favorite bookstores.

  • spending time on my own marketing (constantly putting that on the back burner, you’re not the only one).

  • gearing up to ghostwrite a book for a fabulous non profit. I can’t wait to brag about it to everyone.

  • connecting more and more with social good leaders. I work best when I surround myself with people who lead with their hearts over their pockets, and stand up for the BIPOC rights and community, trans rights and community, women’s health rights, environmental justice, and the LGBTQIA+ community.

In the spirit of Groundhog Day, I want to remind us all that we don’t have to do the same thing over and over again, let alone with anyone, anywhere, that makes us feel unvalued or stuck. Stuck sucks.

This is one beautiful world full of incredibly amazing people when we join together with other awesome, intelligent, innovative, compassionate, empowering change-makers. Creative problem-solving rules!

Together we can outshine, let’s put it nicely, stick-in-the-muds who are trying to cloud our sunshine and freeze over what can be a kind and generous planet.

If you’re up for a chat, I welcome the opportunity to discover how we can work together for good. Let’s shine on!


Thank you for reading.


- Laura Paisley Beck of Wa’am Writes, LLC.